As the five accessibility standards are introduced, there will be new requirements and deadlines for affected organizations to remove barriers. 

Accessible Employment

The Accessibility Standard for Employment is the second standard under The Accessibility for Manitobans Act (AMA). 

  • To ensure the safety of employees with disabilities, all employers in the public, private and non-profit sectors must comply with the workplace emergency requirements by May 1, 2020.

For all other accessible employment requirements:

  • Manitoba government will demonstrate leadership by complying within one year: May 1, 2020.
  • Public sector organizations have two years to comply: May 1, 2021.
  • Private sector, non-profit organizations and small municipalities have three years to comply: May 1, 2022.


Accessible Customer Service

The Accessibility Standard for Customer Service is the first accessibility standard enacted under the AMA.   Learn more about the Accessibility Standard in Customer Service

Compliance deadlines are:

  • The Manitoba Government had one year to comply: November 1, 2016
  • The public sector had two years to comply: November 1, 2017
  • Private, small municipalities and non-profit organizations had to comply within three years: November 1, 2018

Accessibility Plans are an additional requirement set out by the AMA.  The aim is for public sector organizations* to provide leadership in identifying and addressing all types of accessibility barriers.  These plans must be updated every two years. Learn more about Accessibility Plans.

Compliance deadlines are:

  • December 31st, 2016 for larger public sector organizations**
  • December 31st, 2017 for smaller public sector organizations***

* The AMA applies the definition of public sector organizations used by Manitoba’s Financial Administration Act:"any board, commission, association, agency or similar body, whether incorporated or unincorporated, all the members of which, or all the members of the board of management, board of directors or governing board of which, are appointed by an Act of the Legislature or by the Lieutenant Governor in Council".

** Larger public sector organizations include the Manitoba government, universities and colleges, school divisions, Crown corporations, regional health authorities and Manitoba’s 10 largest municipalities: Brandon, Dauphin, Flin Flon, Morden, Portage la Prairie, Selkirk, Steinbach, Thompson, Winkler and Winnipeg.

***Smaller public sector organizations are all other municipalities and agencies, boards and commissions. 

Learn More: